Emacs and RSI?

Can any other Emacs users comment on this... I started using emacs around this summer because I started studying Scheme a little. Now I'm using it full time especially after discovering org mode.
Lately I've been having pain in my left hand thumb and pinky. No so much in my right hand. Any one else have RSI type problem with emacs?
I think I'll switch back to vim for a while and see if it clears up. yes i know about evil. I just want to see what and how much I'll miss

Other urls found in this thread:

ergoemacs.org/emacs/swap_CapsLock_Ctrl.html
github.com/atlas-engineer/next
ergoemacs.org/emacs/emacs_hand_pain_celebrity.html
ergoemacs.org/misc/rms_emacs_tyrant_2018-03.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

RSI is purely psychological. Please send me all the money you'll spend on useless widgets, doctors etc. Thanks.

Well being that the only money I'm going to spend is in switching back to vim or installing evil I'll send you a grand total of $0.
Where to send?

If you're using Emacs with the default ctrl position on a PC keyboard, you'll become a cripple. Bind that shit to caps lock.
Your pinky isn't designed to always be thrusting at 120deg + 90deg angles away from the rest of your fingers. Use it very sparingly.

xcape
github.com/alols/xcape

This. I use the CTRL key in Vim very often as well (in insert mode) and rebinding the useless Caps Lock is a life saver. That position is also where the CTRL key used to be when vi was originally designed.

Swap caps-lock with control:setxkbmap -option caps:ctrl_modifier
Place this on your .xinitrc or equivalent. Alternatively, use the right ctrl more, it takes some time to get used.

Nope. As a gaymer my hands have adapted to contort into any position that's needed. Maybe you need to start using an emacs pedal.

Use evil mode

This is the keyboard Emacs was design for. Notice the position of CTRL.
Either swap Ctrl and Alt or Ctrl and CapsLock.

Attached: ClipboardImage.png (2001x773, 2.33M)