I'm a Senior Software Engineer and it took me 12 hours to implement an O(n) sorting algorithm using a linked list in C...

I'm a Senior Software Engineer and it took me 12 hours to implement an O(n) sorting algorithm using a linked list in C, a programming language I have been using for a decade now.

I kept on forgetting to reassign the contents of the head address when an item was being added to the head of the list.

I want to die inside.

Attached: hqdefault.jpg (480x360, 19.49K)

Other urls found in this thread:

mercurylang.org/information/doc-latest/mercury_ref/index.html
youtube.com/watch?v=PNRju6_yn3o
acronymfinder.com/TOC.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

If it makes you feel any better, I feel like much less of a retard now.

Tell us more, user. Do you have some early buggy code and the final result? Why'd you sort the linked list directly instead of mapping it an array, sorting the array, and then mutating the original list according to the sorted array? How long did it take you notice that you were forgetting stuff and what did you do about that? Nothing and keep forgetting? Use a macro that would remember the task for you? How were you testing to see that your sort worked? Just call it from an existing application? Call it from a test suite?

I first wrote it into the existing software, and realized I fucked up. I then created a small test application that did what I wanted and It worked just fine for the inputs I gave it. I then went back and implemented the damn thing and it still didn't work.

so your tests were incomplete? or you broke it while moving it from the test code back into your application?

Yes I didn't consider one of the cases. Simply going back to my test code and using a different case would have solved my problem.

Here's my little shitty piece of code. Ignore the stuff that's not the actual sorting algorithm.