I am a senior manager within a company which has seen a small foray in to third world markets. For the past few months...

I am a senior manager within a company which has seen a small foray in to third world markets. For the past few months, the GM has been exploring moving into China with our “unique” product. I have been struggling as to the best way to table my objection, but when asked for feedback in a recent management meeting, I just took the opportunity.

I asked if he was aware of what China was currently doing; with the Uighurs, Hong Kong and Taiwan, their belligerence with neighbouring states and those bordering the South China Sea. The forcing of behavioural practices on foreign companies – within those foreign companies’ home borders no less.

He was not aware of these issues.

In order to best provide context, I asked hypothetically (and with the benefit of hindsight), would he entertain doing business with Germany in 1935? Knowing that the small network of concentration camps that would ultimately lead to the holocaust had already started to take form. That Nazi Germany had begun its threats of war and annexation as a matter of foreign policy. Was stealing technology and leveraging political and military strength to distort markets at the benefit of its business sector.

Clearly, he said, he would not.

I elaborated further on each of these comparisons. Each instance can be argued as comparatively worse; with higher body counts, greater leverage, and less avenues for recourse from the global community (militarily, politically, economically) when compared with options available against Nazi Germany.

Attached: 1561852355984.png (320x213, 2.24K)

Other urls found in this thread:

imgur.com/gallery/Q2jZfNi
youtu.be/iQdDRrcAOjA
youtu.be/rvVMCIEanm8
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages