How hard is coding

Tech I just got laid from my job so I wanted to change my career and thinking about taking up coding.

I have a degree in BA and some familiarity with high school level algebra.

How much time is needed to learn a language?

Attached: Computer-Programming.jpg (746x486, 80.46K)

Other urls found in this thread:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cisco_Career_Certifications
htdp.org/
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

probably easier and better to go into system administration

How?

to build internets you need
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cisco_Career_Certifications

Don't get into IT, it sucks and will suck even more in the near future.

Depends on what you want to do.
If you only want to program user programs that don't really rely on performance optimization techniques, resource management, etc., then picking up "coding", as you put it, is quite easy and requires only a short yet modest time of dedication to learn through application, by doing.
If you are wanting to get into something like programming games which does require performance optimization techniques, resource management, etc., then you are looking at many years of study.

6/10 post, had a chuckle at it

For people who don't know, there was mass layoffs at "news" outlets like Buzzfeed and HuffPo a few days ago and people who were fired are being trolled by being told "learn to code"

Depends on the language. There are two factors: size and complexity. For example, C is a small but complex language (many ways to shoot yourself in the foot), while Python is a simple but huge language. Small and simple languages (think Scheme or Lua) are quick to learn, while large and complex languages (think C++ or Common Lisp) take very long to learn.

The question is, what do you want to do with a language? For example, Scheme might be quick to learn, but if you want to go into systems administration you're not going to get much use out of it, while Python or Perl would be more useful.