Good programmers

Are you a good programmer? How do you know you're a good programmer? How do you know a person is a good programmer?

Attached: 1564252165629.jpg (480x480, 24.24K)

Other urls found in this thread:

verisimilitudes.net
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

Nobody in this shitty board is a good programmer. Nobody is a good programmer anymore, they've all retired or had their brains melted by soy.

Does that include you?

I know I'm a good programmer because:
My deep knowledge of every layer of the modern computing stack enables me to figure out bugs before anyone else.
I know how to create systems that are maintainable and resilient.
I know someone's a good programmer when they can think in systems rather than lines of code.
That's what comes to mind anyway.

I know I'm a good programmer because I went to school to become one :^)

what did you study?

Larping and Cope undergrad

I prefer to think of myself as a spaghetti chef.

Attached: Prog.jpg (473x496, 133K)

There aren't any good programmers OP, we're all just varying levels not-shit.

Sometimes something I write works on the first try though, and I get really excited.

I love revisiting an old pile of spagetti and marveling at it. Im like, look how smart i was.

I'm a good programmer, because I don't make things any more complicated than they need to be out of necessity. A lot of newfags mistake good programming for amassing a repertoire of clever tricks and shoehorning as many as possible into every program, whether the problem calls for it or not. That isn't good programming. Anyone can make a complicated mess, but not everyone can solve a complicated problem in a simple and elegant way. A good programmer always strives for the latter; even if he can't always achieve it, it should always be his goal.

I'm widely regarded as one of the greatest programmers of our time, so I suppose that makes me uniquely qualified to say; yes I am good.