So I was advised during confession today to do the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela...

So I was advised during confession today to do the pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela. I've never done a pilgrimage before, how and where do I prepare for this spiritually and practically (maps, packing, etc.)? Do I buy a guide book? Can I bring a camera or will that profane the experience? I've spent a year in the army so the walking or sleeping outdoors will not be a problem.

Attached: 487588909-612x612.jpg (612x406, 44.92K)

My mother went there. Tbh it was organised by local church and the group travelled via bus, but we live 3000km away from portugal. I don't know if they had a hired guide or any books, maybe just priest or someone knowledgeable from group lead them.
I don't see a problem with a camera. Don't make photos during mass and you should be ok.
It would be probably best if you ask that priest about how 2 pilgrimage.
How far is it for you by the way?

I also live 3000 km away so it would take about 7 months to get there and back although it is very tempting.

So you went there but don't know that Santiago de Compostela is in Spain?

i don't know much about it but i want to wish you well

What did you do to have to go on a pilgrimage?!

Thanks.

10 years of various criminal activities, mostly theft and fraud. Also 2 abortions. I'm not really certain he mandated it, I think it was more of an advise for my spiritual growth. Regardless, I have decided to do it and will start in January after I graduate.

Damn. Good luck user. God speed and God bless. Let us know how it goes.

Think of it like therapy the priest acting in the place of the Lord Jesus already removed the sin. Now you are trying to rehabilitate your soul because of the damage caused by all the sin and having been shut off from God for so long. Good luck on your journey. May God Bless you.

no, I didn't went there
yeah it's in spain

Thank God you're clean now

It all depends on how and what you want.