Image detection

so i just had an idea for a test
it would sort of be the calgary corpus of image recognition
think of a 20 sided die, where every side has the number it represents printed in english (or handwritten, or a different language, the dice can be modified but the principle is the same)
this die would be in a transparent box with a camera above it looking down
the box would be shaken, rolling the die
the camera would then take a picture

the goal for any algorithm attempting this problem would be to determine the number that was rolled

anyways i have no experience with image detection at all, how would i go about finding people to try this problem

Attached: d20.png (684x728, 144.79K)

Other urls found in this thread:

dsp.stackexchange.com
stackoverflow.com/questions/8479058/how-do-i-find-waldo-with-mathematica
youtube.com/watch?v=95EErdouO2w
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

Unironically, stackoverflow.

but stackoverflow is strict on the "questions and answers only" format, ill probably get downbumped if i start a challenge thread

seems like the box is an unnecessary complication, the images could be pre-generated, then your looking at general OCR. You don't need people to try to solve this problem, you just need various algorithms, free and proprietary software to try to solve the problem, then compare the performance.

seems like the die is an unnecessary complication, the rolls could be pre-generated, then your looking at general OCD. You don't need to try to solve this problem.

well the whole point of the test really would be to extrapolate and identify text from a real life image

we could also have it so the camera is not neccessarily looking straight down at the die, just from an angle where a human would also be able to identify the number rolled

the main idea here is that the difficulty of the problems stems from being able to make out which number is on top (rolled) and being able to extrapolate and interpret text data