Are professional gpu (quadro/fire pro) worth it?

Are professional gpu (quadro/fire pro) worth it?.
I'm a hobbyist CAD designer, is the improvement worth the investment?

Attached: w8100-vs-k5000-688.jpg (688x426, 127.65K)

Other urls found in this thread:

stackoverflow.com/a/23587649
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

Certified drivers and in the case of Jewvidia better double precision performance.

Is the better perf worth the price difference?

if it was worth the price difference the goycoin miners would be all over it but they have no interest

I don't know how mining works but i'm guessing it doesn't need double precision.

you would think opencl and general gpu compute would be faster on these things, but that's what bitcoin is doing and nobody buys these for bitcoin. clearly whatever bitcoin hits hard these don't perform well enough at for the price.

No

GPU in general is one of the biggest scams of the computer world, the chips between a "pro" and a "normal" one are none, they are identical because it would cost a lot more to make another assembly line so instead they just DRM the whole thing via PCI hardware and software limitation and sell their shit at different prices.

To respond your question:
It depends on what software you are going to use.
The proprietary drivers and proprietary softwares (soliworks, games etc...) needs to be compatible with each other to pass trough the artificial limitation of the GPUs so if you want to buy any GPU, RTFM and see the compatibility of the drivers and software that are given by the manufacturers.

Do you even get double precision on consumer-grade cards? You can look up benchmarks, they can give you some estimate on how faster (or slower) it'll be. If you can rent a machine with it that'd be best I think, it' but not sure if you can get one for one hour or so.

Doesn't mining use integer operations?

Tbh they use larger ECC memory which cost allot.