Change my path

So I am a developer.

By most standards a pretty good one at that, with a decent career, job situation and salary (not a huge salary, but nothing to complain about).

The thing is I am slowly but surely going insane being stuck in the enterprise world as a consultant. So the short version is that I am looking for a way out, preferably with economic freedom, and more time with the kids (and more/any time to do the stuff that I want to do in my currently non-existing spare time).

I am a good techie - been working as tech lead and/or architect in most of my projects the last decade, and the people I work with, both clients and co-workers like me.

I am horrible at sales (can't lie with a straight face) and have borderline severe authority issues (though I try to keep that in check, and rather let it fester inside and eventually grow into a tumor I suppose).

Are there anyone there that could give me some directions cause I am at a loss. But I know if I keep on with this 8-5-every-fucking day year after year I'll be an alcoholic before I hit 42.

Any advise is greatly appreciated

Attached: shit.jpg (962x641, 255.47K)

You could try spicing it up with some contracting. It teaches you new skills as you can lie about what you know then learn from their projects. It's refreshing and also opens doors. Even if you lack the domain knowledge, most areas of software development are so desperate for good core programmers that it doesn't matter. I contracted in game dev on a large unity project without knowing anything about unity development and was able to solve a lot of the big issues that had gone unsolved for years as debugging some shitty C# scripting is easy mode compared to the work I'm used to in networking.

I second that. Contract here and there for a few months at a time.