Career Advice

Can we have a general career advice thread? Talk about your job, ask questions about careers or majors you're interested in, etc.

I'm not sure what career I really want to pursue. I started programming in middle school as a hobby, and though I never really got all that serious about it, I always assumed that programming would be my career path. Then I did a 2 year degree in Software Development, and the closer I get to having a programming job, the more I think I'd HATE programming as a career. It seems like the workplace culture most programming jobs has is not what I was hoping for. I feel like the influx of shit like Big Bang Theory, The Great Indoors, and IT Crowd have ruined programming as a career forever. Is it as soul-crushing as I expect? I was thinking of switching to some kind of engineering, maybe Computer Engineering, instead of continuing with a 4 year in CompSci. What kind of work can I realistically expect with a CE degree? Is it going to be any better? I'm in the US, by the way. Working IT for now and it's alright I guess since it's mostly a hands-on job instead of a call center.

Attached: ClipboardImage.png (395x669, 203.79K)

Other urls found in this thread:

ada.ac.uk/
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

Do not go into debt for any reason. Do not play the Jew's game. Never give a penny of usury to anybody. If you have debt it's like being on fucking FIRE. You don't just ignore it. You put it out with extreme urgency.