Why aren't you using Qubes?

I'm curious as to why we aren't all running Qubes OS or something like it. Privilege escalation attacks are waaay too easy to carry out now. Even without the baddies getting root they can still view everything in your home directory. With Qubes you can spin up as many VMs as you have RAM for. The easy-to-use installer also ensures that even a complete noob can have proper full-disk crypto.

All VMs are Xen domains, each behind a FirewallVM. The dom0 does not connect to any USB or networking by default. Out of the box you are given network vm and a usb vm. The network vm acts as a gateway to the firewall vm.

It even comes with whonix vm that acts as a tor gateway for a client vm already configured to only send through tor. If tor is down, absolutely no traffic leaks.

Each AppVM can be based on a TemplateVM, meaning that only their home directory takes up space. When you update the software on the templates, all child vms will get the updates after a restart. All clipboards are segregated by VM unless you say to pass it on.

My favorite feature is the disposable VMs. You can spin up a vm in seconds that connects to your tor gateway and has Tor browser ready to go that gets deleted as soon as you shut it down.

I was also thinking of one day making something similar to Qubes OS, but I am pretty happy with Qubes now. I'll probably just maintain Gentoo and Arch templates for Qubes.

Attached: qubes-logo-icon.png (128x128, 2.28K)

Other urls found in this thread:

multicians.org/multics-data-security.html
it.slashdot.org/comments.pl?sid=225078&cid=18230722
encyclopediadramatica.rs/Joanna_Rutkowska
archive.is/aZGoG
multicians.org/multics-vm.html
arxiv.org/pdf/1105.1811.pdf
arxiv.org/ftp/arxiv/papers/1802/1802.09517.pdf
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

>>>/g/

Install Gentoo

Attached: d396b95f23798d46e061c55b3476a5759be452d545397a6931004440491dc926.jpg (900x1200, 210.87K)