C++ hate thread

Why is everything in C++ so broken and fucked up? Even when adding new extensions they don't think them through and they fail in bizarre ways.

Here's an example I ran into today because I actually write code for a living, the new enum class types don't implicitly convert to their base type nor is there anything supplied in the STL to do the conversion in a generic way.

enum class Foo : int { X};int main(int argc, char *argv[]) { return argv[Foo::X] == 0;}

fail.cc: In function ‘int main(int, char**)’:fail.cc:6:21: error: array subscript is not an integer

There is no legitimate reason why an extension intended to provide an implicit storage class for an enum is not implicitly convertible to that type. It's pure madness. Just why.

What other horrors have you encountered in C++?

Attached: 4chanfilename.png (1620x774, 40.48K)

Other urls found in this thread:

stackoverflow.com/a/24847480/159570
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Object_composition
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Inheritance_(object-oriented_programming)
en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/language/list_initialization
twitter.com/AnonBabble

a thread died for this

Do you want to make a defense of that enum class example? Tell me why it should work that way.

hmmm this person has an opinion the unix wheenies are behind this

OP you're a dicksucking pajeet faggot that doesn't read the specification for the language you're using to do your work.

Because you have high levels of melanin in your system.

Because jews need sell books.

Attached: stl.jpg (600x800, 98.77K)

Scope has nothing to do with this, but thanks for contributing your wisdom to the thread.

user, I'm not even a C++ programmer and I figured it out in < 1 minute.

Yes it does, you'll need a `static_cast` when using scoped enums, pic related.

Attached: Capture.PNG (828x569, 53.32K)