FORTH

Anyone here program in FORTH? It seems like a really nifty little language. I have no experience with it. I'm thinking of Working through "Starting FORTH" after I finish SICP. FORTH is interesting in that in many ways it's the opposite of Lisp. Lisp is a high level language where code can be treated as data. FORTH is a low level language where data can be treated as code. It's extremely minimalist and is basically a step up from assembly. It has a REPL and is often used as a shell on microcontrollers.

Attached: Starting-FORTH-Cover-216x300.jpg (216x300, 12.14K)

Other urls found in this thread:

forth.com/resources/space-applications/
youtube.com/watch?v=mvrE2ZGe-rs
open-std.org/JTC1/SC22/WG14/www/docs/n1124.pdf
groups.google.com/forum/m/#!topic/comp.lang.forth/nWAaPl6A-iY
science.co.il/companies/Software.php
bell-labs.com/usr/dmr/www/licenses.html
kittenlang.org/):
twitter.com/AnonBabble

That sounds... interesting? I'll look into it, let's hope this won't end up a meme -lang like Lisp or Rust

It's a very old language. Like I said, it's still used on microcontrollers because of how minimal it is. It is stack based. You have your data stack and return stack. The data stack holds the data, obviously, and the return stack holds the memory addresses to return to after after a function is exited. Everything is done in postfix notation. Again, this is the opposite of Lisp, which uses prefix notation.