Which are your favorites? In my experience, ReiserFS and ext4 are the best for HDDs, and XFS for SSDs. But...

Which are your favorites? In my experience, ReiserFS and ext4 are the best for HDDs, and XFS for SSDs. But, I have not tried Btrfs. ZFS is great, although I have limited experience with it. Have any of you tried F2FS on SSDs? I have heard that it is meant for USBs/SD cards. I'd also like to hear about some of the more esoteric filesystems, like NILFS2 and HAMMER. For those of you NVMe owners, what are your experiences?

Attached: Reiser.jpg (920x613, 39.28K)

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/zfsonlinux/zfs/issues?q=panic is:open
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

Sorry, I forgot to do the captcha, so it ate the subject without me noticing. This is a thread for discussing filesystems.

Fat32.

I use XFS everywhere. What does your "experience" amounts to? Feelz?

btrfs on top of LUKS

As you probably know, XFS was created by SGI as the primary file system for $50,000+ MIPS workstations and servers in the 90s, and then carried over into the early 2000s for use in exorbitantly expensive clustered super computers and such. My reasoning is as follows: there's no point using a high-performance filesystem on a HDD. Ext4 uses journaling instead of meta-data journaling. ReiserFS has also never made me lose data. I would use ReiserFS on my SSD (I use Gentoo, so efficiently managing small files would be a godsend) but it doesn't support TRIM.

1. ZFS will eat all of your ram, it's supposed to give it back when something requests it, but it does not, and your system will crash, which leads to 2.

2. ZFS will cause kernel panics constantly
github.com/zfsonlinux/zfs/issues?q=panic is:open
127 open issues for ZFS causing kernel panics

ZFS might work if you have a dedicated box and all it's doing is running ZFS, you set it up, getting it working, and don't fucking touch it again, a network file server or something, but your retarded if you use it on anything else.