Why is everyone asking me to install gentoo?

Whats wrong with Ubuntu? I have been using ubuntu for the past many years now and it has not failed me, even once!

Other urls found in this thread:

knowyourmeme.com/memes/install-gentoo
fsf.org/blogs/rms/ubuntu-spyware-what-to-do
funtoo.org/Funtoo_Profiles)
wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Paludis
wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Paludis/Guide
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

I ain't asking you. Ye best install it if you know what's good for ya, kiddo.

You've been memed on. There's literally nothing wrong with ubuntu.

r u fishin me right now or smth

knowyourmeme.com/memes/install-gentoo

user don't say such awful things

Those damn canonical Jews have daemons that record every file I open. I don't think they send it to their servers but the turn off tracking button seems to be a placebo.

It's a joke, ignore them and lurk moar.

systemd, amazon, spyware, bloat

fsf.org/blogs/rms/ubuntu-spyware-what-to-do

Comparing Ubuntu with Gentoo is comparing apples with oranges because the target audience is different. Ubuntu is for people who just want a system that works out of the box with a similar user experience to Windows/OSX. Gentoo is for people who want to customize every aspect of their system, compile from source, minimize dependencies and bloat, harden security, etc. etc. "Install gentoo" is a meme but it's accurate if the above applies to you or if you just want to dive into the deep end learning about Linux.

Honestly, Ubuntu is fine if it's serving your needs. I'm not even sure if the aforementioned spyware still exists in Ubuntu, but if it does you should turn it off. Personally, though, I would choose Debian over Ubuntu since it's free by default of Canonical bloat, binary blobs, and proprietary drivers.

Also forgot to say they add nonfree software to their repositories and show it as something good, whereas it's spyware