Alternatives to OOP

I'm somewhat new to programming, dabbled for years but never really got sufficiently motivated to make anything big. I'm having a look at making a Roguelike, and I'm struggling to see how you could avoid OOP entirely for this kind of thing and end up with something more elegant. If I represent a level as a 2D Array of Objects, any operation related to changing or checking states is piss simple, and I can do something similar with creatures/items, etc. I don't have to go nuts with inheritance since I can just have a base game object with x and y coordinates, then tile, item and creature objects that inherit from that with the parameters they need, then each individual type of these inheriting from those, which results in a linear inheritance structure that doesn't shit the place up and become impossible to debug.

How exactly would you approach this without OOP? Or is the constant screeching about OOP a self reinforcing shitflinging contest between Pajeets who abuse it and contrarian autists?

Attached: 52e9e262ced6d39ff43c18047db201a0462a0dcd451f05bd05d17f1037d412c1.gif (500x365, 79.45K)

Other urls found in this thread:

gigamonkeys.com/book/object-reorientation-generic-functions.html
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_Lisp_Object_System
yegor256.com/
eolang.org
parsonsmatt.org/2016/07/14/rank_n_classy_limited_effects.html
blog.tmorris.net/posts/type-classes-are-nothing-like-interfaces/index.html
youtube.com/watch?v=hIZxTQP1ifo
youtube.com/watch?v=uR_VzYxvbxg
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

put the entire game state in an immutable array and keep passing it to itself in the main loop

oh shit user I think ya dun figured out the mysteries of programming.

OOP isn't all bad, there's no need to avoid it completely, especially if you use it lightly and don't go into crazy mountains of inheritance where it's impossible to control and reason about the data you have in hand.