OSAS: Is it the truth?

I've been really struggling with this doctrine. I'm new to the faith and so am not well versed on the Bible and was wondering, would anyone here be able to present their view on this subject and why they hold it?

Attached: 02soldier.png (543x600, 161.98K)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtu.be/hycjHApNNOM
youtu.be/_EWnx5cTz_s
newadvent.org/cathen/07465b.htm
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

no

Have you suffered with autism?
As in diagnosed?

Yes I am. I'm on the spectrum.

Ey hombre, you don't come round this hood with that protestant propaganda, you feel me? Some catholics may start quoting Bible verses that you don't even know existed. You better watch your step around here pretty boy.

I don't want to get into sects, I'm only trying to understand this piece of doctrine.

The doctrine is based on mostly single verses spread around in the New Testament.
The whole of the Book of James debunks them however, so much that Luther first removed the Book of James too (it was later put back out of the apocrypha because his mates told them maybe that was a tad too much).

So what do the verses which support it mean then? what are they promising?

If you want the somewhat opposite view of it, research on Theosis.

They literally say that if you believe that you have everlasting life (can't quote one out of my head).
Context, however, is everything.
There are enough verses you can just pluck out and see what it means.

For example, the whole "you shall not eat shellfish" verse from Leviticus.
Does that mean we should not eat shellfish?
No, because put in context we know it's from Leviticus, describing Jewish traditional law, which we are exempted from through Christ.

If you have a true living faith (showing through works), you will get God's grace and be saved.
faith doesn't save, neither do works, but grace does.
To get grace, one needs to believe in Christ as his Lord and Savior (faith), repent and uphold His commandments (works).