Differences between Protestantism and Catholicism

I'm new at christianity. Is the only difference, that the catholics have a pope and the protestans don't?

Attached: 1446346323365.png (756x715, 888.67K)

Other urls found in this thread:

youtu.be/KxMfhcmV4FA
gotquestions.org/repentance.html
newadvent.org/cathen/03744a.htm
youtube.com/watch?v=ggm_dMae8io
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

Okay everyone let's try to keep it civil for our new friend here.

Yes Catholics believe Jesus appointed St. Peter as the leader of His Holy Church while Protestants don't. Catholics also believe that there is a communion of saints in heaven that can hear our prayers and pray with us. Like one big family. Catholics believe that Jesus instituted the Eucharist (the bread and wine). We take it in memory of Him.

As for Protestants, I am not one but as far as I know their "dogma" can varry from denomination to denomination.

I'm sure I missed other differences but those are the big ones I can think of off the top of my head.

Attached: 20151014cnsbr0951-800x500.jpg (800x500, 56.33K)

The difference is in the gospel. Protestants believe in justification by faith alone, and Catholics believe their works of sacraments are contributory in earning salvation.
Luther called this the doctrine upon which the church stands or falls.

The heart of this Roman catholic position is the idea that Jesus gave special authority to Peter which was only preserved in the Roman church, and only the Roman church is guided by God.

Please watch this for the Protestant position of sola fide
youtu.be/KxMfhcmV4FA

There are a million other differences that are ancillary, and even differences among Roman catholic and between Protestant groups, but the gospel is the primary issue of Christianity.

Every protestant, even Baptist, believes Jesus instituted the Lord's supper and we take it in memory of Him.

Prots DONT EVEN AGREE ON SACRAMENTS