Orthodox "vs." catholic

Im very new to this.
But in most threads here, i read most people convert from catholic to orthodox. Did i read the wrong threads or is orthodox the real religion?

Attached: DoArx7jWsAAUQK6.jpg (500x500, 41.97K)

Other urls found in this thread:

bonald.wordpress.com/the-catholic-perspective/
twitter.com/AnonBabble

Alright, I’ll bite.

The Catholic Church and the Eastern Orthodox Church are two of the original ancient Christian Churches dating back to the time of the Apostles. Both churches used to be united as one, until some cultural and theological differences and resentment over various arguments and injustices against each other drove them apart roughly around 1054 AD. They each aggressively claim to be the "True Church".

Please don't make two of the same threads

Catholics claim supremacy because they have the "keys to heaven" handed down to them by Saint Peter. They will get a lot of converts who are tired of church hopping and just one one clear source of authority on everything.

The Orthodox claim supremacy because they have a liturgy and theology which more closely matches that of early Christianity. Thus they will get a lot of converts who are frustrated with the Catholic Church for being "too liberal".

If this is actually the main reason why one would become a Catholic, it would explain why the Catholic church is losing grounds recently. It is anything but "one clear source of authority on everything".

I suppose the traditional Orthodox liturgy can be a inviting for a traditional Catholic who dislikes some irregularities of the post VII Catholicism. For the Orthodox, however, the right theology is what matters most. One can have right liturgy even without right theology, while it is impossible to have right theology without right liturgy.

The Orthodox tend to be very enthusiastic about the Orthodox Church. And the enthusiasm is infectious.

I am seeing both directions tbh.